2019 endorsements thank you branding with logoCongratulations to our Endorsed Candidates!

By Stefan Jones,
WashCo Dems Communications Committee Member

“Off year” elections sometimes come as a surprise:

“Wait, it’s not an even numbered year . . . why did I get a voter’s guide? What am I being asked to vote for? Who are these people?”

More often then not, voters end up not turning in a ballot. This is a shame. Elections for local offices shape our schools, our recreational opportunities, and policies toward the environment.

As it happened, voter turnout in Washington County was very respectable for an “off year” election, nearly 20%. And an amazing 13 out of 15 of our endorsed candidates won their races!

Congratulations to our new electeds:

  • See Eun Kim: Hillsboro School Board, Position #4
  • Lisa Allen: Hillsboro School Board, Position #5
  • Yadira Martinez: Hillsboro School Board, Position #7
  • Narce Rodriguez: Forest Grove School Board, Position #5
  • Tom Colett: Beaverton School Board, Zone #7
  • Wendy Kroger: Tualatin Hills Park and Recreation District, Position #2
  • Ashley Hartmeier-Prigg: Tualatin Hills Park and Recreation District Position #3
  • Heidi Edwards: Tualatin Hills Park and Recreation District, Board of Directors, Position #4
  • Tya Ping: Tualatin Hills Park and Recreation District, Board of Directors, Position #5
  • Jim Doane: Tualatin Valley Water District, Position #5
  • Andrew Smith: Commissioner West Slope Water District, Position #1
  • Ben Bowman: Tigard-Tualatin School Board, Position #2
  • Alex Diaz Rios: Portland Community College Board of Directors, Zone #7

Thank you to everyone who donated to campaigns, volunteered for office duties, and canvassed. It is thanks to people like you that we are able to get out the vote and raise awareness of our endorsed candidates.

For more details on the election, see the Oregon Votes page for Washington County.